The Duff Cooper Prize

Duff Cooper’s bookplate,
designed by Rex Whistler

The Duff Cooper Prize

The Duff Cooper Prize

Since 2005 we have been generously supported by
Pol Roger
which donates the Champagne for the award presentation,
and contributes £1000 towards the £5,000 prize.



The Winner of the 2107 Pol Roger Duff Cooper Prize was announced last night. It is Anne Applebaum’s Red Famine, an account of the great Ukrainian famine of the early 1930’s. The prize of £5,000 was presented to Anne Applebaum at a reception in the French Embassy by the French Ambassador, H.E. Jean-Pierre Jouyet. Anne Applebaum is the only author to win the prize twice - she won in 2003 for her book Gulag.

Artemis Cooper, chair of the Pol Roger -Duff Cooper Prize judges, says 'In this beautifully-written book, Applebaum takes the reader through one of the most appalling episodes of the Soviet past. Not every historian can look with such an unflinching gaze into the depths of evil and human misery, and write about it with such clarity and compassion.'

The Pol Roger Duff Cooper prize celebrates the best in non-fiction writing, and it is now administered by New College, Oxford.


Anne Applebaum, H.E. The French Ambassador, Laurent d'Harcourt of Pol Roger, and Artemis Cooper
Photo by Jose Farinha

Registered Charity 313572

Website design by Orphans