The Duff Cooper Prize

Duff Cooper’s bookplate,
designed by Rex Whistler

The Duff Cooper Prize

The Duff Cooper Prize

Since 2005 we have been generously supported by
Pol Roger
which donates the Champagne for the award presentation,
and contributes £1000 towards the £5,000 prize.


Duff Cooper


The Pol Roger Duff Cooper Prize celebrates the best in non-fiction writing.The first award was made in 1956, and it has been given annually ever since

The Winner 2015

Schubert's Winter Journey: Anatomy of an Obsession
By Ian Bostridge
Faber & Faber

‘He combines ferocious curiosity with intelligence…There’s a sense that the book itself is an act of discovery, crystallising the thoughts and research of decades into text’. The Spectator

Recent Winners

How to Live: A Life of Montaigne
Registered Charity 313572

Website design by Orphans